18:30

By the car
In the rain

You’re late
Fuck sake

Rain in my eyes
Rain down my back
Rain in my purse

Four minutes late
Six
Nine

Umbrella by the door
Raincoat on the hook

A man with a hood
Not you

Rain in my hair
Frizz

‘Just need to pick up a book’
Didn’t mention you’d be writing the book

Thirteen minutes

Move?
You’ll be here soon
Find shelter?
No signal

Trying to make out your shape in people blurred
I think it’s you
I’m wrong
I think it’s you
I’m wrong

Always wrong on you

Fourteen minutes
Winter
A winter late
And a summer
Probably next spring too
Knowing you

Always wrong on you
On you, around you, by you
Never with you
Really

Rain through denim

Fuck sake
Jump, keep warm
Fuck sake
Selfish, late, selfish

A dog and a woman

Sixteen
A quarter of an hour
In this rain
What the hell are you doing?

What are you ever doing
Really

Rain in my eyes
Rain down my back
Rain in my purse
Rain in my hair
Frizz
Rain through denim

It’s you
Is it you?
It is

Sauntering

Walk past me
Murmer something
Not an apology
I know it’s not an apology

Slip into the car
Fumble with the keys
Sit
Unlock my side

Not an apology

Seatbelt, keys, gear, radio

Rain, in the car

Leave a Reply

